Day 5

Plumorchard Gap Shelter to Betty Creek Gap – 23.5 miles – North Carolina 

I finally slept well! I wake before my 6 AM alarm and lie restless until about 5:45 AM. I break camp and get water at the stream on my way out. I hit the trail about 7:40 AM. 

After a few miles, I enter into North Carolina. It’s easy hiking today. The North Carolina mountains seem much easier than Georgia. About midday I drink a can of cola trail magic sitting on a trash can. I get to Carter Gap Shelter mid-afternoon and settle into the shelter, eat, bear bag my food, and get water. 

About 30 minutes later, Ryan, Alex, Morgan, and another, show up together and eat dinner. They say they are going on to a campsite a few miles further. I decide to join them. I tell them not to wait up since I need to get my gear together. I just throw all my stuff, loose, into my pack, fetch my bear bag that I just hanged a few minutes ago, and then quickly catch up to them and put another 3.7 miles on the day. 

Physically, I am feeling good. Mentally, I am feeling really lonely and missing my family like crazy. It feels even worse when I attempt to call them from my tent, but have zero cell service. I’m OK, one day at a time.

I am looking forward to the 100 mile mark and my mail drop at the NOC (Nantahala Outdoor Center) Outfitters.
   

Southern Nantahala Wilderness, Chattahoochee National Forest, GA
  

First border crossing: North Carolina!

  
    
   

Bears are here

Leave a Reply

