Day 81

Wilson Valley Lean-to to Carl A. Newhall Lean-to – 25.5 miles

It’s a hard day, mentally and physically. And the terrain is hard too. It doesn’t take long for the trail to turn vertical. There are lots of steep ascents and descents; not long, but just constantly up or down. Not much flat. 

My legs are tired. I don’t know if it was the late 10-mile push yesterday afternoon or that it is day 81. 

My goal is to get over White Cap Mountain (last major mountain), but it is evident early on that isn’t happening. I come up seven miles short of White Cap and stop at 7 PM. I need to get rest. I need two big days in order to avoid a high mileage day for Katahdin. 

Mentally, I’m just not focused today. I think a lot about what I want to eat in Millinocket, though.

Barren Mountain, ME. Elevation 2,660′. Mile 2,089.6.

Beautiful 

Barely two days now!

Leave a Reply

